Home > Tech-Tantra > Cheap VOIP calls to India – Resolving Nymgo Issues

Cheap VOIP calls to India – Resolving Nymgo Issues

There were days when even incoming calls had buried a hole in your pockets, but now things have changed a lot. Now you can make even ISD calls using VOIP technology at drop-dead prices.

One of the major VOIP service provider, which provides cheapest calling rates to India, almost as low as 0.013$, with good sound quality is Nymgo. You can download its Softphone, and call through your pc to any phone in the world.

Nymgo has no doubt cool calling rates, but my worst experinces with it is in getting it functional. After long periods of my struggle with it, I finally came out with winning streak and thought to share the Nymgo configurational issues and their resolutions. Note: Below stuff can be too technical, so please bear with me or leave a comment with your concerns and I’ll try to elaborate more.

Issue 1) Nymgo Network Test fail – usually at NAT

Router Configuration

Router Configuration

Resolution: If you are behind some firewall (or wireless router) and able to access internet properly but not able to make any calls with nymgo. Check out your router settings and disable inbuilt firewall in it. If even that doesnt works, Set up your machine in router as Default DMZ server and change NAT settings and other router settings as described in the image.

Issue 2) Nymgo Network Test pass – Still not able to make calls

Resolution: When I resolved issue 1, I actually landed in issue  2:) The best solution I found for it is to not to use Nymgo at all. I mean not to use its softphone to make calls, rather use best third-party VOIP softphone – Xlite. Configure its SIP settings for your Nymgo account as follows:

SIP Server Or SIP Proxy Server: ata.nymgo.com
SIP User ID: nymgo username
Authenticate ID: nymgo username
SIP password: nymgo password
SIP Port: 5060
Codec Used: g729
STUN Server: stun.nymgo.com
STUN port: 80

I believe this should solve your other issues related to Nymgo as well, If not leave a comment and I’ll try to fix it.

Note: Author of this post is neither a promoter of Nymgo nor its support executive. Rather I wont even recommend contacting Nymgo Support as these guys sucks. I raised one ticket to them for my issues but never heard a positive response.

I never intended to be a promoter of X-lite but it has turned out that way. Many of my readers have tried X-lite, some do faced issues in configuring it and for you friends, as requested, here comes the much awaited Screenshots of SIP configuration of X-lite:

Open SIP Accounts Settings Menu to add a Nymgo Account

Click on Add to add an account and Enter your login credentials along with server details as shown below:

Further specify STUN details under Topology head.

And you’re done :)

Categories: Tech-Tantra
  1. raksha
    April 24, 2010 at 7:02 pm | #1

    hi varun ,

    iam using nymgo i could hear them but they cant hear me what could be the problem , i checked all the audio settings , but no use , i downloaded xlite but i dont know how to include the sip settings please help me

    • Venkata Bellala
      June 5, 2010 at 4:04 am | #2

      Could you please send me the SIP setting for X-lite, I am using x-lite as I am facing probelm with nymgo

  2. Varun
    April 24, 2010 at 8:46 pm | #3

    hi raksha….no issues with this…
    share me your email id n i’ll mail you the screen shots to configure these SIP settings…
    hope that works

  3. mohsin
    June 3, 2010 at 2:50 pm | #4

    hi varun,
    i am having sound problem with nymgo , while i make a call some one they can hear me but i cant hear them , even if i can some times but it does not clear. the sound clarity problem begins with the calling ring it self most of the time
    i thought the problem could be with my nymgo account but its working great with other computer. so the problem should be in my computer only with nymgo , sonce other all programs are playing a good sound including yahoo and google messenger calls
    please help me out to solve this problem

  4. Vivek
    June 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm | #5

    Hi Varun,
    Please help me on this Nymgo issue.
    I am using older version of Nymgo 3.0 since last 4 months and it was working fine but suddenly since last week facing issue with connection problem. I asked Nymgo support for help they ask me to download latest version. I tried that too but still problem persist.
    I have downloaded the Xlite software as you suggested but can you please mail me screen shot for SIP configuration. My email id is vivkk11@yahoo.co.in
    Please help me.

  5. Siva
    June 20, 2010 at 12:10 pm | #6

    Hi Varun,
    I am using nymgo and am not able to hear the ring tone and others voice.Please pass me the screenshots on how to configure xlite software.
    Many thanks in advance.

  6. Varun
    June 26, 2010 at 9:26 pm | #7

    Hey guys, I have updated my post as per your comments and have added screenshots of SIP settings of X-lite.
    Hope it can help you in some way.

    Cheers,
    Varun

  7. September 13, 2010 at 9:53 pm | #8

    dear varun,
    i have configured the X-Lite software in my laptop. It is having windows 7 OS and i5 intel core duo processor 4 MB RAM. But while making the calls i’m getting the message has “the person your trying to call is not reachable”. even though the phone is working the above message is give by X-Lite. Please provide me a solution. i will be really greatful to you.

    • Varun
      October 6, 2010 at 9:44 pm | #9

      Dear Satish,
      I am sorry but I am not able to replicate this issue in my laptop and never faced this issue as well.. So really cant help much in it.
      Maybe u can try contacting Nymgo Support.

  8. sambhudasr
    October 27, 2010 at 7:16 am | #10

    Hi Varun.
    Am from uae.am using nymgo on my laptop and desktop.on desktop xp and laptop it was Vista and i face so many problems while i use nymgo..Connection problems some times and disconnecting aftr 5 min in every time then i need to restart or exit from nymgo.bcz of that i upgrade my laptop as Windows 7.Now it is diconnectiong aftr a 5 min evry time..pls help me how i can manage this ..pls email me .

    • Varun
      November 9, 2010 at 10:50 pm | #11

      hi,

      thanx for posting…
      Have you tried Xlite… ??

  9. prashanth
    November 28, 2010 at 8:58 am | #12

    hi varun i have my personal pc and i am trying to call in x-lite.But while making the calls i’m getting the message has “the person your trying to call is not reachable”. even though the phone is working the above message is give by X-Lite. Please provide me a solution. i will be really greatful to you.

  10. pearl
    January 3, 2011 at 12:14 pm | #13

    Hello Varun,
    First of all, i would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful post especialy in detail. I’m using Nymgo 4 and always ended up in log in problem. After reading this post, i installed X-Lite 4, and did all the configuration as you described. Ofcourse it is working, but the problem is very low audio quality. Im in south africa, and i use to call to India. When calling i can hear very well, but the other person can’t. Is there any audio settings that i have to change?, I saw some audio codecs settings there in ‘preferences’ tab. Can you please help to sort out?

  11. shanila
    January 4, 2011 at 3:20 pm | #14

    Hi Varun,

    i am using nymgo to call to UK using nokia 5800(through nimbuzz).but the problem is i can hear them,but they cannot hear me.what can be the issue.please help me.Is there any hope if i change my 2G setup to 3G

  12. kashif salim
    May 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm | #15

    mohsin :
    hi varun,
    i am having sound problem with nymgo , while i make a call some one they can hear me but i cant hear them , even if i can some times but it does not clear. the sound clarity problem begins with the calling ring it self most of the time
    i thought the problem could be with my nymgo account but its working great with other computer. so the problem should be in my computer only with nymgo , sonce other all programs are playing a good sound including yahoo and google messenger calls
    please help me out to solve this problem

  13. Varun
    May 3, 2011 at 10:43 pm | #16

    Hi Mohsin…
    thanks for stopping by and leaving your mark.

    For the sound issue…are you on Wireless LAN. Assuming yes, have you tried setting your machine as DMZ server on your wireless network as per the instructions in above image – Router Configuration – in Issue 1? If not then please do as I believe it should fix this issue.

  14. Navaneeth
    August 5, 2011 at 11:53 am | #17

    Hi Varun

    Thanks for the wonderful post.

    I have downloaded Xlite and configured the sip settings for Nymgo and it got configured and shows “Ready” with my username on the Xlite Phone panel.

    However when I dial a number, it says “calling” without any beep sound or ringtone and after sometime it says “Call failed: Request Timeout” with the IVR – “the person you are calling is unavailable, pls try again”.

    I am in UAE. Any SIP Setting needs to be changed?

    Thanks
    Navaneeth

  15. Rahul
    August 12, 2011 at 1:09 pm | #18

    Hi varun,

    Good post. I was about to try nymgo since i failed making a call with x-lite.
    My sip settings on x-lite worked perfectly with vista, however on my new laptop with windows 7, i am unable to configure x-lite. I use an account with localphone.

    I am able to make calls from skype though but they charge a bomb, roughly 4 rupees a minute + connection charge.

    It is not a wireless connection as the hotel provides only a wired one.
    Any suggestions would do a lot of help to me.

    Tried several other voip clients. [nymgo, s-unno mainly]

    Thanks and regards
    Rahul

  16. Mallikarjun
    October 14, 2011 at 2:07 pm | #19

    Hi Varun,
    I’m facing voice problems with nymgo. As you suggested i have tried x-lite 4 with your recommended settings. First attempt first call successful after that it shows “failed to establish a call “. Pls suggest ways forward to deal nymgo problem.
    I’m using windows vista home premium and all updates are up to date.
    I have put windows firewall OFF and kespersky net protector also OFF to try still same problem. Pls suggest.

  17. kamalesh saha
    November 2, 2011 at 4:16 pm | #20

    Thank you dear friend.It has solved a big problem.I could not call for the last 4-5 days and could not get any responce from Nymgo.X-lite has solved my problem.
    Kamalesh Saha

    • Varun
      November 2, 2011 at 7:46 pm | #21

      Thanks friend…

      • sonam tashi
        November 10, 2011 at 3:10 pm | #22

        boss, i am not not able to make a call after the installation.i even entered the proxy number from my office but it is not working can you help.

  18. December 18, 2011 at 1:53 pm | #23

    hey yaar pls help me out cant i use nymgo on my i phone via fring …
    pls help varun saheb …
    Garima

    • Varun
      April 19, 2012 at 9:19 am | #24

      Garima ji, my knowledge is limited when it comes to dealing issues in phones… sorry…can’t help much

  19. priya
    January 31, 2012 at 11:40 am | #25

    hi varun…………,

    im using nymgo for past few months, but i downloaded new version but im having problem like opening nymgo, when i try to login, i get internet connection failure or service not available. but i checked my internet connection. it is working properly………..pls help with this issue.

    • Varun
      April 19, 2012 at 9:20 am | #26

      Hi priya..
      i would suggest you to try X-lite, as personally I don’t rely on Nymgo softphone.. it actually sucks…bad quality and stupid issues keep coming all the time…

  20. Sumeet
    April 18, 2012 at 6:22 am | #27

    Hi Varun,
    I am facing a weird issue in which the credit is not displayed on the application window (softfone) and I cannot access the contact book either, I contacted the support, they asked me to re-install with the latest version, I had already tried that, but I did it again, but I am still facing this issue. Call making is a pain, sometimes it works, most of the time it doesnt.

    One thing i noticed when I clicked on network test in tool tab, is that all the parameters except “SIP protocol” is checked but in the small space below, this note comes “NAT type: Port Restricted Nat”.

    Please suggest. Thanks in advance

    Regards
    Sumeet

    • Varun
      April 19, 2012 at 9:22 am | #28

      Hi Sumeet,

      try making changes in your router configuration as specified above. I am not sure it can help for credit issue but it might work for the network Test issue…Refer your router instruction manual to access above settings page.

  21. Namrata
    April 18, 2012 at 11:57 am | #29

    You have done a great job here .. was in trouble with nymgo after loading it up with 50$ (stupid me !) and it just doesn’t seem to yield !! (specially when I landed in uae with call rates towering high too !)
    Well..Let me try if it does now ! Missin my family .. they should be a ‘soft’ call away now :P

  22. Namrata
    April 18, 2012 at 12:44 pm | #30

    God bless ! Cudn’t get hold of Nymgo..through the method u displayed ( If you can pls explain in detail how to go about it, step by step ) BUT downloaded X-Lite 4 and Voila..It works..The Sound is precious .. Thanks to you tonnes !!
    Btw , you must be a techy guy ! Keep it Up !

    • Varun
      April 19, 2012 at 9:28 am | #31

      Hi Namrata,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. It does motivate me :) and yes the SOUND is actually precious for all …. :)

      And for the method to deal with Nymgo, I have intentionally not focused much on that as even after trying all those steps, it still might not work, thus I preferred to give detailed instructions on X-lite as that do works most of the time :)

  23. Kulveer
    July 24, 2012 at 8:12 pm | #32

    Hii varun Please help me i want to use nymgo for OVI like for nokia e 5 and e 63 what should i do. Quick responce will be highly appreciate.

  1. October 11, 2009 at 11:36 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

